Swansea Punk

Punk rock, post punk and new wave in the Swansea area-1977-1983

The Lost Boys

The Lost Boys formed in late 1978, and were based in the Uplands area of Swansea. The original line-up consisted of Paul Battenbough – Lead vocals and guitar, Richard Cowell – Lead vocals and bass, Dai Steward – Lead guitar, Jeremy Ratcliffe – drums. Dai Steward left the band in 1981, and was replaced by geology student Max Sommers.

The band’s first gig was at Old Nicks - now the Mission Gallery in Swansea Marina. Following a gig supporting The Squirts at Swansea University, the band were offered a regular evening slot at The Coach House pub on Wind Street. It was here that the band developed a faithful following. With their heavily flanged guitar sound and harmonized lead vocals the band brought a more complex sound to the scene at a similar time as bands such as The Cure and Joy Division were plumbing deeper depths from the inspiration that punk first provided.

The tracks contained on The Lost Boys e.p. were recorded in 1981 at Majestic Studios in Clapham with producer Bryan Evans. The band later recorded another session at Tony Visconti’s studio with Evans, but unfortunately none of the tapes survived. A further song - Who are the Meek Ones? - was recorded at Howard Cooze’s basement studio in Glanmor Road Swansea. The track was included on the Sonic International compilation e.p. Sex Violence and the Eternal Truth.

The Lost Boys disbanded in late 1982. They reformed in 2013 for a on-off gig, playing alongside The Dodos at The Garage in Uplands, Swansea.

Richard has been a constant member of the Rag Foundation for almost twenty years




"We Are The Meek Ones", was released on a Swansea compilation ep, "Sex, Violence and the Eternal Truth", (sonic international records 1981,)

6-track 7" clear vinyl E.P featuring Underpass, Happy Song, Boring, I Can Do Anything released on 28th October 2013 (Punkhouse Records TIDY 6)




More info about PunkHouse Records products can be found here







Who Are the Meek Ones (1980)


Richard Cowell -bass,

Paul Battenbough -guitar and vocals,

David Steward - guitar

Max Summers - guitar

Jeremy Ratcliffe- drums.



lost boys family tree
lost boys

lost boys

lost boys

lost boys

sonic International cover


sonic International cover